Under state law, all people enrolled in Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) health insurance plans must certify their status as tobacco users or non-users. If you have any questions, please visit our Q&A page on tobacco policies.
No longer using tobacco?If you or any dependent you cover has quit using tobacco, sign in to your account and click the Tobacco User Certification link to certify a change in tobacco use status.
Reporting fraud—If you have witnessed someone insured through the GBP, including a dependent, using a tobacco product five or more times within the past three consecutive months, please report this information to ERS.
How to certify that you and your covered dependents do or do not use tobacco products.
Complete this form if you are diagnosed by a physician as having a health factor that prevents you from discontinuing the use of Tobacco Products.
If you and your dependents aren’t certified, you will be charged a monthly premium of $30 each (up to $90 per household per month). The following charts provide an overview of who will pay an additional $30 premium each month (up to $90 per household).
Certified Tobacco User
Failed to Certify
Covered adult dependent (18 years and older)
Covered child dependent (younger than 18 years)
The charge for covered adult children who fail to certify is the same, no matter how many adult children in the household fail to certify.
You can get help to quit tobacco so you don’t have to pay more for health insurance. All health insurance plans available to State of Texas employees and retirees offer tobacco cessation programs as part of their overall wellness initiatives. Click on the link for your insurance plan to find out more:
In addition, certain prescription tobacco cessation drugs—Zyban; its generic, bupropion; and Chantix—are covered.
If you quit using tobacco, you will:
If you need to send ERS a physician’s statement or affidavit stating that you (or your dependent) cannot stop using tobacco products, the information in that statement or affidavit is considered Protected Health Information (PHI), and you should not give it to your benefits coordinator to send to ERS for you. You can send the statement or affidavit by fax, mail, or overnight delivery, or deliver it in person to ERS.