Due to Summer Enrollment processing, ERS OnLine will be unavailable from 6:00 p.m. Friday, June 23 until 7:00 a.m. Monday, June 26. We apologize for any inconvenience.

2017 ERS Board of Trustees Election

  • Melvin elected to serve on ERS Board of Trustees

    On May 10, Catherine Melvin of Austin was certified as the winner of the 2017 ERS Board of Trustees election.

    Melvin is the Chief Auditor at the Texas Department of Public Safety and has more than 26 years of state service. She has stated she is committed to ensuring the stability of our retirement system and improving benefits and customer service for ERS members and their families.

    ERS members and retired state employees who receive an annuity from ERS were eligible to vote in this year’s election.

    Melvin will fill the position held by Brian Ragland of the Texas Department of Transportation, whose term ends August 31, 2017. Melvin’s term will begin September 1, 2017, and end August 31, 2023.   

    Candidate Votes %
    Catherine A. Melvin 13,109 35.1%
    Morgen Ashley Cuming 4,753
    Benito Ybarra 8,698 23.3%
    Jacqueline “Jackie” A. Dickerson 10,813
    Total tabulated votes 37,373  100%

    Section 815.003(d) of the Texas Government Code states that before August 31 of each odd-numbered year, the Board of Trustees (Board) of the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) is required to hold an election for the members and retirees of the system to nominate and elect a trustee.