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STATE OF TEXAS OFFERS SPECIAL 
BENEFITS TO SURVIVORS OF THOSE 

KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY
The Texas Legislature enacted Chapter 615 of the 
Texas Government Code to provide death benefits 
for eligible survivors of certain law enforcement 
officers, fire fighters, and others killed in the line 
of duty. The program is funded by the state and 
is administered by the Employees Retirement 
System of Texas (ERS.) It is not part of any 
retirement program.

The benefits paid under Chapter 615 are 
available only when the individual suffers a 
death occurring during the performance of his 
or her duty and resulting from exposure to a risk 
inherent in the particular duty performed or a risk 
to which the general public is not customarily 
exposed. There are no age or length-of-service 
eligibility requirements for this benefit. Payments 
made under Chapter 615 are in addition to 
any other benefits for which the survivors of 
deceased individuals may be eligible (examples: 
federal benefits and educational benefits).

Who qualifies for Chapter 615 
benefits?
This program may be available to eligible 
survivors of the following individuals:

•	 Commissioned Peace Officers (as defined by 
Article 2.12 of the Criminal Procedure Code,)

•	 employees subject to certification by the Texas 
Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP,)

•	 members of organized volunteer fire fighting, 
police reserve, or auxiliary units,

•	 members of Emergency Medical Service units,

•	 Custodial Officers of the Texas Department of 
Criminal Justice (TDCJ,)

•	 employees whose principal duties are aircraft 
crash and rescue fire fighting and

•	 others as defined by Chapter 615 of the Texas 
Government Code.

What Chapter 615 benefits are 
available?
There are several benefits available. Please be aware that 
eligibility requirements apply to each of them.

•	 A one-time payment of at least $500,000 from the 
state for a surviving spouse, or in equal shares, to 
the surviving children or parents (Texas Government 
Code Section 615.022) - The payment is based on 
the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers 
(CPI-U) and is adjusted each fiscal year.

•	 State-paid funeral expenses payable to eligible 
survivors if the deceased was a Commissioned Peace 
Officer; jailer, county jailer or guard; or was employed 
by TDCJ in an eligible position (Texas Government 
Code Section 615.121(a)(1) and 615.122)

•	 A monthly payment paid by the state to a surviving 
spouse if the deceased was a Commissioned 
Peace Officer; jailer, county jailer or guard; or was 
employed by TDCJ in an eligible position (Texas 
Government Code Section 615, Subchapter D)

•	 A monthly payment paid by the state to surviving minor 
children (Texas Government Code Section 615.023) 

The state would pay a monthly payment to a parent 
or guardian of the surviving minor children until the 
minor reaches age 18: for one surviving child, $400; 
for two surviving children, $600; or for three or more 
children, $800.

•	 A surviving spouse and children may be eligible to 
enroll in health, dental and/or vision benefits provided 
by the former employer of the deceased upon the 
death of the Commissioned Peace Officer, firefighter, 
police cadet, firefighter cadet or a TDCJ employee in 
an eligible position. The surviving spouse may continue 
health benefits until the date the surviving spouse 
becomes eligible for federal Medicare benefits as long 
as they pay the appropriate health insurance premium 
each month. Surviving children can continue enrollment 
in the health, dental and vision plans as long as they 
pay the premiums and are under age 26. Dental and 
vision benefits are not available to married children 
(Texas Government Code Section 615, Subchapter D). 



How do I apply for Chapter 615 
benefits?
The employer or a family member should contact ERS 
directly to initiate the Chapter 615 claim process. ERS 
will work with the appropriate entities to gather the 
required documentation and information for the Chapter 
615 claim process.

For more information on  
benefits available under  
Chapter 615, contact:
Customer Service 
Employees Retirement System of Texas  
Attn: Survivor Benefits 
P.O. Box 13207 
Austin, TX 78711-3207
Toll-free: (877) 275-4377

Federal benefits
The employer or family can contact the Public 
Safety Officers’ Benefits Program about 
potential federal benefits:

Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program  
Bureau of Justice Assistance 
810 Seventh Street NW  
Washington, DC 20531
Telephone: (202) 307-0635 or  
toll-free (888) 744-6513 
Website: https://psob.bja.ojp.gov/

Educational benefits
For additional information regarding student eligibility, 
please contact:  

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Division of Student Services 
P.O. Box 12788  
Austin, TX 78711
Telephone: (512) 427-6101  
Website: www.highered.texas.gov

Surviving Spouse Residence  
Homestead Exemption
The surviving spouse can contact the residence’s 
appraisal district for more information regarding this 
exemption. (Texas Tax Code Section 11.134)
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